Thursday, August 24, 2006

Once there was Nine...

Our solar system is now a mere 8 planets with 4 'dwarf planets', say 2500 astronomers meeting in Prague today. Here I was thinking they would be adding 3 planets- Ceres, Charon & Xena. Now they've subtracted one instead!

"The International Astronomical Union's (IAU) decision means textbooks will now have to describe a Solar System with just eight major planetary bodies. " according to the latest BBC news brief. Read the full article

Here's the latest picture:

This decision has already stirred a lot of controversy.

What effects do you think it will have beyond the need to change textbooks??

, , ,